Guided tour through the artists’ village of Worpswede

In the middle of the Teufelsmoor (Devils Moor) lies the village of Worpswede. Here the farmers of former times survived only with hard work. At the end of the 19th century artists discovered the moor landscape and rural life for themselves. To this day painters, photographers, sculptors and craftsmen live and work in Worpswede.

After our tour you will know how the first settlers wrested land from the Teufelsmoor, why the painter Fritz Mackensen was fascinated by Worpswede, where you can get married surrounded by furniture created by Heinrich Vogeler and how Clara Westhoff and Paula Modersohn-Becker escaped a fine.

Guided tour through Worpswede at a glance

Bremer Promenaden will guide you in French, Italian, English and German through the artists’ village.

Stops of the tour: Philine-Vogeler-Haus, Stolte-Haus, historic village centre with farm houses, town hall, church Zionskirche on Weyerberg, tomb of Paula Modersohn-Becker, “Große Kunstschau“ museum in the building created by Hoetger or the Museum at the Modersohn-Haus.

Duration of the guided tour: two hours including a visit of a museum

Good to know: We also go across unpaved (forest) paths and climb steep steps. Please wear solid shoes.

Groups and prices, tour in English

  • flat rate price for 20 persons max, two hours 110.00 Euro, plus 4.00 Euro p.P. entrance fee museum (group price, 10 persons and more)

Tour durch das Künstlerdorf Worpswede

Mitten im Teufelsmoor liegt das Dorf Worpswede. Nur mit harter Arbeit konnten die Bauern vergangener Zeiten hier überleben. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts entdeckten Künstler Moorlandschaft und Landleben für sich. Bis heute wohnen und arbeiten in Worpswede Maler, Fotografen, Bildhauer und Kunsthandwerker.

Nach unserem Rundgang wissen Sie, wie die ersten Siedler dem Teufelsmoor Land abtrotzten, warum sich der Maler Fritz Mackensen für Worpswede begeisterte, wo man inmitten von Vogeler-Mobiliar heiraten kann und wie Clara Westhoff und Paula Modersohn-Becker einer Geldbuße entgingen.

Führung durch Worpswede im Überblick

Bremer Promenaden führt Sie auf Französisch, Italienisch, Englisch oder Deutsch durch den Künstlerort.

Stationen des Rundgangs: Philine-Vogeler-Haus, Stolte-Haus, historischer Dorfkern mit Bauernhäusern, Rathaus, Zionskirche auf dem Weyerberg, Grab von Paula Modersohn-Becker, Große Kunstschau im Hoetger-Bau oder Museum am Modersohn-Haus.

Dauer der Führung: zwei Stunden inklusive Museumsbesuch

Gut zu wissen: Da wir auch über unbefestigte (Wald-)Wege gehen und steile Treppen steigen, sind feste Schuhe angebracht.

Gruppengröße und Preise

Führung auf Deutsch

  • maximal 20 Personen pauschal 95,00 Euro zzgl. Museumseintritt (ab zehn Personen vier Euro pro Person)

Führung in einer anderen Sprache

  • maximal 20 Personen pauschal 110,00 Euro zzgl. Museumseintritt (ab zehn Personen vier Euro pro Person)